Science

How to cope with the quarantine during COVID-19 crisis

Today we would like to give you a few tips on how you can cope with the quarantine during COVID-19 crisis. 

First tip: Evaluate the significance of this situation with respect to your commitments and personal goals and look at the degree to which this situation can be perceived as a challenge or a benefit. Think positive! 

How to cope with everyday life?

Plan a daily routine with your commitments, short-term goals and physical active training that work for you. 

Try to focus on basic needs and take care of your physical energy through sleep, nutrition and hydration. Plan a daily routine with your commitments, short-term goals and physical active training that work for you. Try to focus on basic needs and take care of your physical energy through sleep, nutrition and hydration.  

How to cope with home office?

Find a good place at home where you can concentrate and where nobody bothers you. Don’t work where you sleep, because this could impact your sleep quality.

Furthermore, it is important to break up your sitting time – get up from your chair every 30 minutes to boost your glucose metabolism! Being active during several, even short times is more beneficial than being active once and then sitting the rest of the day. 

Try not to keep all electronic devices such as smartphone, tablet or remote controls close to you: first, it will distract you from your duties and secondly, you need to stand up every time you need them.

Food and nutrition tips:

Make a plan and buy only things that you need. Be strategic about the use of ingredients and prioritize fresh products. If you do have an appointment out of the house, make sure you prepare yourself a balanced and healthy meal. With homemade meals it is easier to control your intake of salt, sugar and fat and you avoid long queues for a takeout meal.

The most important aspect is to stay hydrated but avoid drinking large amounts of coffee or caffeinated soft drinks.

Training considerations:

Daily physical exercise is good for your general health and is boosting your mood. Avoid too intense or overly long sessions because it could lower your immune defenses. So do not perform exercises until exhaustion. Some athletics and stretching exercises could be a good choice. Pay attention to be well hydrated before, during and after the sessions. 

Stay safe!

Sources:

  1. Chavalier, M. D., Blanchard, M.D & Dusour M. D. (2020). Covid 19: Training considerations unter: https://ylmsportscience.com/2020/04/19/sit-less-more-more-and-more-often-during-the-quarantine/
  2. Crowley, F., & Doran, J. (2020). Covid-19, occupational social distancing and remote working potential in Ireland (No. SRERCWP2020-1). SRERC Working Paper Series.
  3. Latella, C., & Haff, G. G. (2020). Global Challenges of Being a Strength Athlete during a Pandemic: Impacts and Sports-Specific Training Considerations and Recommendations. Sports, 8(7), 100.
  4. Shahidi, S. H., Stewart Williams, J., & Hassani, F. (2020). Physical activity during COVID‐19 quarantine. Acta Paediatrica, 109(10), 2147-2148.
  5. Werneck, A. O., Silva, D. R., Malta, D. C., Souza-Júnior, P. R., Azevedo, L. O., Barros, M., & Szwarcwald, C. L. (2020). Changes in the clustering of unhealthy movement behaviors during the COVID-19 quarantine and the association with mental health indicators among Brazilian adults. Translational behavioral medicine.
  6. World Health Organization. (2020). Food and Nutrition Tips during Self-Quarantine.

Similar Posts

Wissenschaft

Wie mit der Quarantäne während der COVID-19-Krise umzugehen ist

Heute möchten wir euch ein paar Tipps geben, wie ihr mit der Quarantäne während der COVID-19-Krise umgehen könnt. 

Erster Tipp: Bewerte die Situation im Hinblick auf deine Verpflichtungen und persönlichen Ziele und überlege, inwieweit diese Situation als Herausforderung oder als Vorteil empfunden werden kann. Versuche positiv zu denken! 

Wie bewältige ich den Alltag?

Plane eine für dich gut funktionierende Tagesroutine mit deinen anstehenden Verpflichtungen, kurzfristigen Zielen und deinem Training. 

Versuch dich auf deine Grundbedürfnisse zu konzentrieren und sorge durch genügend Schlaf, eine gute Ernährung und eine hohe Flüssigkeitszufuhr für genügend Energie. Probiere mal den Tag etwas langsamer und ruhiger zu starten und gönne deinem Geist sowie Körper eine Pause. Es ist eine sehr gute Übung, die mentalen Fähigkeiten in ungewöhnlichen Zeiten zu trainieren. Versuche „normale Aktivitäten“ wie Kochen, Training, Spiele spielen oder einfach nur Lesen zu genießen und daran Spaß zu finden.  

Wie bewältige ich die Zeit im Home-Office am besten?

Suche dir zu Hause einen Platz, an dem du dich gut konzentrieren kannst und wo dich niemand ablenkt. Arbeite jedoch nicht dort, wo du schläfst, weil das könnte deine Schlafqualität negativ beeinflussen.

Außerdem ist es wichtig, dass du deine Sitzzeit ab und zu unterbrichst – stehe alle 30 Minuten von deinem Stuhl auf, um deinen Glukosestoffwechsel anzukurbeln! 

Versuche, nicht alle elektronischen Geräte wie Handy, Tablet oder jegliche Fernbedienungen in deiner Nähe zu haben, da sie dich erstens nur von deiner Arbeit  ablenken und zweitens müsstest du jedes Mal aufstehen, wenn du sie benötigst.

Tipps zum Essen und zur Ernährung:

Mache dir einen Einkaufs- und Essensplan und kaufe nur Lebensmittel ein, die du auch wirklich brauchst. Sei strategisch bei der Verwendung von Zutaten und priorisiere die frischen Produkte. Falls du doch noch einen Termin außer Haus haben solltest, sorge für eine ausreichende und gesunde Ernährung. Bei hausgemachten Mahlzeiten ist es leichter die Aufnahme von Salz, Zucker und Fett zu kontrollieren und du vermeidest lange Warteschlange vor einem Imbiss.

Der wichtigste Aspekt ist, dass du ausreichend Flüssigkeit zu dir nimmst, vermeide jedoch große Mengen Kaffee oder koffeinhaltige Erfrischungsgetränke zu konsumieren.

Trainingsempfehlungen:

Eine tägliche körperliche Bewegung ist gut für deine allgemeine Gesundheit und verbessert deine Laune. Vermeide zu intensive oder übermäßig lange Trainingseinheiten, da diese deine Immunabwehr schwächen könnten. Ergänze dein Training mit ein paar Athletik- sowie Dehnübungen. Achte darauf, vor, während und nach dem Training ausreichend Flüssigkeit zu dir zu nehmen. 

Bleibe gesund!

Quellen:

  1. Chavalier, M. D., Blanchard, M.D & Dusour M. D. (2020). Covid 19: Training considerations unter: https://ylmsportscience.com/2020/04/19/sit-less-more-more-and-more-often-during-the-quarantine/
  2. Crowley, F., & Doran, J. (2020). Covid-19, occupational social distancing and remote working potential in Ireland (No. SRERCWP2020-1). SRERC Working Paper Series.
  3. Latella, C., & Haff, G. G. (2020). Global Challenges of Being a Strength Athlete during a Pandemic: Impacts and Sports-Specific Training Considerations and Recommendations. Sports, 8(7), 100.
  4. Shahidi, S. H., Stewart Williams, J., & Hassani, F. (2020). Physical activity during COVID‐19 quarantine. Acta Paediatrica, 109(10), 2147-2148.
  5. Werneck, A. O., Silva, D. R., Malta, D. C., Souza-Júnior, P. R., Azevedo, L. O., Barros, M., & Szwarcwald, C. L. (2020). Changes in the clustering of unhealthy movement behaviors during the COVID-19 quarantine and the association with mental health indicators among Brazilian adults. Translational behavioral medicine.
  6. World Health Organization. (2020). Food and Nutrition Tips during Self-Quarantine.

Similar Posts