Science

Interval training: is it effective?

What is interval training?

Training involves three basic variables: intensity, duration and frequency. Interval training usually involves varied increases in intensity and can last anywhere between 10 seconds and 30 minutes with varied recovery times in between each interval. Longer intervals (LI) (3-30 min) are usually trained with fewer repetitions than short intervals (SI) (<30 sec – 3 min). 

Interval training does not always require giving full power, it can also include lower intensities. To get you familiar, let’s start by explaining the different training intensities. Each intensity range has its own key duration of how long an interval should last and the duration of recovery between each interval. Interval training mainly involves intensities above or at your functional threshold power (FTP). 

Here is an overview of the different training intensities and what they are most commonly used for:

Active regeneration (<55% FTP): Easy warm up/ cool down, active recovery

Endurance (56-75% FTP): Basic endurance

Tempo (76-90 % FTP): Basic endurance

Threshold (91-105% FTP): Interval training (8-30 min)

VO2max (106-120 % FTP): Interval training (3-8 min)

Anaerobic capacity (121-150% FTP)Interval training (30 sec – 3 min)

Neuromuscular power (maximal)Interval training (<30 sec)

How will intervals help me to improve my performance?

Interval training can help keep your training fresh and new. If you only train at one pace, after a while you will hit a plateau in your training and your performance will most likely stop improving. It challenges the body and mind to step out of your comfort zone. 

It creates physiological adaptations not only in the muscles such as increases in power output but also cardiac responses such as increases in VO2 max (the maximal amount of oxygen your body can take in and utilize), all important for improving performance.

Interval training is also extremely time efficient. For those who do not have hours a day to train, interval training can be a much more effective method to improve performance on limited time schedules.

Are short intervals more effective than longer intervals?

Interval training has been used for centuries, however, structured short interval (SI) training first came to life in the 1990s when Dr. Izumi Tabata first introduced short duration efforts (20 seconds versus moderate-intensity endurance training). The study showed that by integrating short high intensity efforts, greater improvements are seen in both aerobic and anaerobic capacity compared to longer steady efforts at 70% of VO2max (1). This made way to introduce short high intensity efforts into training to optimize performance alongside longer efforts.

Recently, an interesting article by Rønnestad et al. came to similar conclusions. They compared SI (3 series with 13 × 30 seconds max RPE efforts with 15 seconds recovery between efforts and 3 minutes between each series) versus effort-matched long intervals (LI) (4 series of 5 minutes at max RPE with 2.5 minutes of recovery between efforts) on performance improvements (2). 

The study showed a larger relative increase in power output at 4 mmol/ L and peak aerobic power output after the SI training than LI. Greater improvements of mean power output of a 20-minute cycling test were also seen in the SI group compared to the LI group. 

However, the topic of SI versus LI will always be debated between sports scientists and coaches and cannot be decided by two studies. The type of training also depends on what you are trying to achieve and should not focus on one aspect of performance. Different components of training are all needed to create an all-rounded athlete.

LI serves just as important a purpose than SI (3)(4). They both have their own time and place as to when they can be most valuable. For example, LI are mainly used to build up aerobic performance and SI to improve sharp end power outputs, anaerobic capacity as well as aerobic aspects (4)(5).

How many interval sessions should I train per week?

Not all phases of training include interval training. Intervals are usually included more into training building up to and around competitions. Due to the need to recover following interval sessions, research shows around 2-3 training sessions per week can include interval training (4). This should, however, vary weekly to ensure sufficient recovery. 

Whether the sessions include LI or SI will also depend on the phase of your training and what your specific goals are. To get the most out of your training, it is best to work with an expert trainer that can help guide and structure your training in the correct way. Our app can provide the guidance you need to optimize your training.

Sources:

  1. Tabata, I., Nishimura, K., Kouzaki, M., Hirai, Y., Ogita, F., Miyachi, M., & Yamamoto, K. (1996). Effects of moderate-intensity endurance and high-intensity intermittent training on anaerobic capacity and VO2max. Medicine and science in sports and exercise, 28 10, 1327-30.
  2. Rønnestad, B. R., Hansen, J., Nygaard, H., & Lundby, C. (2020). Superior performance improvements in elite cyclists following short-interval vs effort-matched long-interval training. Scandinavian journal of medicine & science in sports, 30(5), 849–857. 
  3. Seiler, S., & Tønnessen, E. (2009). Intervals, Thresholds, and Long Slow Distance : The Role of Intensity and Duration in Endurance Training. Training, 13(13), 32–53. 
  4. Etxebarria, N., Anson, J. M., Pyne, D. B., & Ferguson, R. A. (2014). High-intensity cycle interval training improves cycling and running performance in triathletes. European Journal of Sport Science, 14(6), 521–529. 
  5. Milanović, Z., Sporiš, G., & Weston, M. (2015). Effectiveness of High-Intensity Interval Training (HIT) and Continuous Endurance Training for VO2max Improvements: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Controlled Trials. Sports Medicine, 45(10), 1469–1481.

Similar Posts

MENU CLOSE

Intervalltraining: ist es effektiv?

Was ist Intervalltraining?

Training umfasst drei grundlegende Variablen: Intensität, Dauer und Häufigkeit. Das Intervalltraining beinhaltet in der Regel unterschiedliche Intensitätssteigerungen und kann zwischen 10 Sekunden und 30 Minuten dauern, mit unterschiedlichen Erholungszeiten zwischen den einzelnen Intervallen. Längere Intervalle (LI) (3-30 Min.) werden normalerweise mit weniger Wiederholungen trainiert als kurze Intervalle (KI) (<30 Sek. – 3 Min.). 

Das Intervalltraining erfordert nicht immer nur Vollgas geben, es kann auch geringere Intensitäten beinhalten. Um dich damit vertraut zu machen, wollen wir dir zunächst die verschiedenen Trainingsintensitäten erklären. Jeder Intensitätsbereich hat seine eigene Schlüsseldauer, die angibt, wie lange ein Intervall und die Dauer der Erholung zwischen den einzelnen Intervallen dauern sollte. Beim Intervalltraining geht es hauptsächlich um Intensitäten an oder über deiner funktionalen Schwellenleistung (FTP). 

Hier ein Überblick über die verschiedenen Trainingsintensitäten und wofür sie am häufigsten verwendet werden:

Aktive Regeneration (<55 % FTP): Einfaches Aufwärmen/Abkühlen, aktive Erholung

Ausdauer (56-75 % FTP): Grundlagenausdauer

Tempo (76-90 % FTP): Grundlagenausdauer

Schwellenwert (91-105 % FTP): Schwellentraining (8-30 min)

VO2max (106-120 % FTP): Intervalltraining (3-8 Minuten)

Anaerobe Kapazität (121-150 % FTP): Intervalltraining (30 Sekunden – 3 Minuten)

Neuromuskuläre Leistung (maximal): Intervalltraining (<30 Sek.)

Wie werden mir die Intervalle helfen, meine Leistung zu verbessern?

Intervalltraining hilft dir, dein Training noch effektiver zu gestalten. Wenn du nur in einem Intensitätsbereich trainierst, wirst du nach einer Weile ein Plateau in deinem Training erreichen und deine Leistung wird sich höchstwahrscheinlich nicht weiter verbessern. Es fordert Körper und Geist heraus, aus deiner Komfortzone herauszutreten. 

Es kommt nicht nur zu physiologischen Anpassungen deiner Muskeln, sondern auch zu einer Steigerung der maximalen Sauerstoffaufnahme.

Das Intervalltraining ist auch äußerst zeiteffizient. Für diejenigen, die nicht stundenlang trainieren können, kann das Intervalltraining eine viel effektivere Methode zur Leistungsverbesserung bei begrenzten Zeitplänen sein.

Sind kurze Intervalle wirksamer als längere Intervalle?

Intervalltraining wird seit Jahrhunderten angewendet, jedoch wurde das strukturierte kurze Intervalltraining erst in den 1990er Jahren ins Leben gerufen, als Dr. Izumi Tabata erstmals Anstrengungen von kurzer Dauer (20 Sekunden im Vergleich zum Ausdauertraining mittlerer Intensität) einführte. Die Studie zeigte, dass durch die Integration kurzer, hochintensiver Anstrengungen größere Verbesserungen sowohl bei der aeroben als auch bei der anaeroben Kapazität im Vergleich zu länger andauernden Anstrengungen bei 70 % der VO2max zu verzeichnen sind (1). Somit wurden immer öfter kurze hochintensive Anstrengungen in das Training eingeführt, um die Leistung neben längeren Anstrengungen zu optimieren.

Kürzlich wurde ein interessanter Artikel von Rønnestad et al. zu ähnlichen Schlussfolgerungen veröffentlicht. Verglichen wurden kurze Intervalle (3 Serien mit max. 13 × 30 Sekunden mit maximalen RPE und mit 15 Sekunden aktive Erholung zwischen den Belastungen; 3 Minuten Serienpause) mit langen Intervallen (4 Serien von 5 Minuten bei maximalen RPE mit 2,5 Minuten Erholung zwischen den Belastungen) bezüglich der Leistungssteigerung (2). 

Die Studie zeigt einen größeren relativen Anstieg der Leistung bei 4 mmol/l und der aeroben Spitzenleistung nach dem kurzen Intervalltraining als lange Intervalle. Größere Verbesserungen der Schwellenleistung in einem  20-minütigen Rad-Tests wurden auch in der kurzen Intervall-Gruppe im Vergleich zur langen Intervall-Gruppe festgestellt. 

Der Vergleich zwischen kurzen und langen Intervallen wird jedoch immer wieder zwischen Sportwissenschaftlern und Trainern diskutiert und kann nicht durch zwei Studien alleine entschieden werden. Zusätzlich hängt die Art des Trainings auch davon ab, was du in deinem Training erreichen möchtest. Um ein vielseitiger Sportler zu sein, sind verschiedene Komponenten des Trainings erforderlich.

Lange Intervalle erfüllen einen ebenso wichtigen Zweck wie kurze Intervalle (3)(4). Beiden lässt sich ein bestmöglicher Zeitpunkt zuordnen, wann sie für Sportler am wertvollsten sein können. Beispielsweise werden lange Intervalle hauptsächlich zum Aufbau der aeroben Leistung und kurze Intervalle zur Verbesserung anaeroben Sprintleistung sowie der aeroben Aspekte verwendet (4)(5).

Wie viele Intervallsitzungen sollte ich pro Woche abhalten?

Nicht alle Phasen des Trainings beinhalten Intervalltraining. Intervalle werden normalerweise mehr in den Trainingsaufbau vor und um Wettkämpfe herum einbezogen. Aufgrund der Notwendigkeit, sich nach Intervalleinheiten zu erholen, zeigt die Forschung, dass etwa 2-3 Trainingseinheiten pro Woche Intervalltraining beinhalten können (4). Dies sollte jedoch von Woche zu Woche variieren, um eine ausreichende Erholung zu gewährleisten. 

Ob die Sitzungen lange oder kurze Intervalle beinhalten, hängt auch von der Phase des Trainings und der spezifischen Zielen ab. Um den größtmöglichen Nutzen aus dem Training zu ziehen, ist es am besten, mit einem fachkundigen Trainer zusammenzuarbeiten, der dir helfen kann, dein Training richtig anzuleiten und zu strukturieren. Unsere App kann dir eine individuelle Anleitung geben, um dein bisheriges Training weiter zu optimieren.

Quellen:

  1. Tabata, I., Nishimura, K., Kouzaki, M., Hirai, Y., Ogita, F., Miyachi, M., & Yamamoto, K. (1996). Effects of moderate-intensity endurance and high-intensity intermittent training on anaerobic capacity and VO2max. Medicine and science in sports and exercise, 28 10, 1327-30.
  2. Rønnestad, B. R., Hansen, J., Nygaard, H., & Lundby, C. (2020). Superior performance improvements in elite cyclists following short-interval vs effort-matched long-interval training. Scandinavian journal of medicine & science in sports, 30(5), 849–857. 
  3. Seiler, S., & Tønnessen, E. (2009). Intervals, Thresholds, and Long Slow Distance : The Role of Intensity and Duration in Endurance Training. Training, 13(13), 32–53. 
  4. Etxebarria, N., Anson, J. M., Pyne, D. B., & Ferguson, R. A. (2014). High-intensity cycle interval training improves cycling and running performance in triathletes. European Journal of Sport Science, 14(6), 521–529. 
  5. Milanović, Z., Sporiš, G., & Weston, M. (2015). Effectiveness of High-Intensity Interval Training (HIT) and Continuous Endurance Training for VO2max Improvements: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Controlled Trials. Sports Medicine, 45(10), 1469–1481.