Science

Immune system of athletes (Part four)

Vitamins are vital organic substances, which are needed for enzymatic and regulatory tasks in many processes in our body. In addition, they are responsible for maintaining the health of the organs and the functioning of the immune system. They also help in some metabolic processes. It is important to get these micronutrients through food in order to have a functional, healthy organism. The most important vitamins with immune-relevant effects are explained below, including vitamins A, D, B6 and C.

Vitamin A:

There are several natural forms of vitamin A. Vitamin A from animal foods (milk, meat, eggs) is called retinol. During absorption, retinol is split off from fat and is bound in the bloodstream by means of a transport protein. This transport protein is zinc-dependent. Disorders of the zinc metabolism result in vitamin A not being synthesised sufficiently. The plant precursor of vitamin A is called carotenoids, which can be converted into vitamin A by the body. If there is an excess of vitamin A in the body, the carotenoids can act as antioxidants. 

The functions of vitamin A are wide-ranging. They act synergistically with iron in building red blood cells. In addition, vitamin A participates in the synthesis of proteins and in fat metabolism in the liver. 

Vitamin A also has an important role in immunity. It increases resistance to infections by being responsible for the integrity of the skin and mucous membranes.

Vitamin A is also involved in the formation of bones and is needed for growth and the healing of bone fractures.

Recommended daily intake

  • Men: 3300 IU*
  • Women: 2600 IU

Occurrence in 100 g:

  • Beef liver 30000 IU
  • Eggs (1 pc.) 400 IU
  • Cheddar cheese (30 g) 340 IU
  • Carrots (1 large) 9200 IU
  • Spinach 2250 IU

Vitamin D:

Vitamin D is the only vitamin where the biologically active form is a hormone. Our skin synthesises vitamin D from cholesterol under the influence of sunlight. Vitamin D is essential for normal bone formation and stimulates muscle cell growth. Furthermore, vitamin D supports the activation and reaction of white blood cells during infections.

In certain regions or seasons, where the body cannot produce vitamin D by means of sunlight, supplementation in the form of a vitamin D supplement is useful.

Recommended daily intake

  • Men: 5 - 10 µg
  • Women: 5 - 10 µg

Occurrence in 100 g:

  • Salmon 16 µg
  • Tuna 5 µg
  • Chicken egg (1 large) 1 µg
  • Calf's liver 1 µg

Vitamin B6:

Vitamin B6 contributes to the integrity of the immune system and is essential for the formation of haemoglobin and for the transport of oxygen by red blood cells. 

In addition, vitamin B6 can maintain normal blood sugar levels by converting protein and carbohydrate stores into glucose. Vitamin B6 also plays an important role in fat metabolism. It synthesises fats that form the myelin sheath to protect the nerve cord.

Recommended daily intake

  • Men: 1.4 - 1.6 mg
  • Women: 1.2 mg 

Occurrence in 100 g:

  • Potatoes (1 medium size) 0.7 mg
  • Banana (1 medium size) 0.6 mg 
  • Lentils 0.6 mg
  • Spinach 0.2 mg

Vitamin C:

Vitamin C is an important water-soluble antioxidant. It is found in every cell of our body and protects them from oxidation with free radicals. Furthermore, cholesterol degradation depends on vitamin C. In addition, it is responsible for the absorption of iron from food.

Recommended daily intake

  • Men: 100 mg
  • Women: 100 mg

Occurrence in 100 g:

  • Acerola cherry 1500 - 2000 mg 
  • Papaya 195 mg
  • Broccoli 115 mg
  • Kiwi 80 mg
  • Orange 70 mg

Annotation:

* 1 µg = 40 International Units (IU); 1 IU = 0.025 µg.

Sources:

Burgerstein, U. P., Schurgast, H. & Zimmermann, M. (2012). Handbuch Nährstoffe. 12. Aufl. Verlag: Trias.1.

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung, Österreichische Gesellschaft für Ernährung, Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Ernährungsforschung, Schweizerische Vereinigung für Ernährung (Hrsg.): Referenzwerte für die Nährstoffzufuhr. Bonn, 2. Auflage, 6. aktualisierte Ausgabe (2020)

Similar Posts

Wissenschaft

Immunsystem von Athleten (Teil 4)

Vitamine sind lebensnotwendige organische Vitalstoffe, welche für enzymatische und regelnde Aufgaben bei vielen Prozessen in unserem Körper gebraucht werden. Darüber hinaus sind sie zuständig für die Bewahrung der Gesundheit der Organe und des funktionierenden Immunsystems. Außerdem helfen sie auch bei einigen Stoffwechselprozessen. Es ist wichtig diese Mikronährstoffe über die Nahrung zuzuführen, um ein funktionsfähigen, gesunden Organismus zu haben. Im Folgenden werden die wichtigsten Vitaminen mit immunrelevanter Wirkung erläutert, darunter Vitamin A, D, B6 und C.

Vitamin A:

Es gibt mehrer natürliche Formen von Vitamin A. Vitamin A aus tierischen Lebensmitteln (Milch, Fleisch, Eiern) nennt man Retinol. Während der Aufnahme wird Retinol vom Fett abgespalten und wird in der Blutbahn mittels eines Transportprotein gebunden. Dieses Transportprotein ist Zink abhängig. Störungen des Zinkstoffwechsels haben zu Folge, dass Vitamin A nicht ausreichend synthetisiert werden kann. Die pflanzliche Vorstufe von Vitamin A nennt man Carotinoide, welche vom Körper zu Vitamin A umgewandelt werden können. Sollte ein überschuss an Vitamin A im Körper vorliegen, können die Carotinoide als Antioxidantien wirken. 

Die Funktionen von Vitamin A sind weit umfassend. Sie wirken beim Aufbau von roten Blutkörperchen synergistisch mit Eisen. Darüber hinaus wirkt Vitamin A bei der Synthese von Eiweißen und beim Fettstoffwechsel in der Leber mit. 

Auch in der Immunität hat Vitamin A eine wichtige Aufgabe. Es erhöht die Widerstandsfähigkeit gegen Infektionen, indem es für die Intaktheit der Haut und Schleimhaut verantwortlich ist.

Nebenbei ist Vitamin A beim Aufbau von Knochen beteiligt und wird im Wachstum sowie bei der Heilung von Knochenbrüchen benötigt.

Empfohlene tägl. Zufuhr

  • Männer: 3300 IE*
  • Frauen: 2600 IE

Vorkommen in 100 g

  • Rinderleber 30000 IE
  • Eier (1 St.) 400 IE
  • Cheddar-Käse (30 g) 340 IE
  • Karotten (1 große) 9200 IE
  • Spinat 2250 IE

Vitamin D:

Vitamin D ist das einzige Vitamin, bei dem die biologisch aktive Form ein Hormon ist. Aus Cholesterin synthetisiert unsere Haut unter Einwirkung von Sonnenlicht Vitamin D. Vitamin D ist unerlässlich für den normalen Knochenaufbau und stimuliert das Muskelzellwachstum. Des Weiteren, unterstützt Vitamin D die Aktivierung und Reaktion der weißen Blutkörperchen bei Infektionen.

In bestimmten Regionen oder Jahreszeiten, in denen der Körper kein Vitamin D mittels Sonneneinstrahlen produzieren kann, ist eine Ergänzung in Form eines Vitamin-D-Präparates sinnvoll.

Empfohlene tägl. Zufuhr

  • Männer: 5 – 10 µg
  • Frauen: 5 – 10 µg

Vorkommen in 100 g

  • Lachs 16 µg
  • Thunfisch 5 µg
  • Hühnerei (1 großes) 1 µg
  • Kalbsleber 1 µg

Vitamin B6:

Vitamin B6 trägt zur Intaktheit des Immunsystems bei und ist wesentlich für die Bildung von Hämoglobin und für den Sauerstofftransport durch die roten Blutkörperchen. 

Darüber hinaus kann Vitamin B6 den normalen Blutzuckerspiegel erhalten, indem es die Protein- und Kohlenhydratspeicher in Glukose umwandelt. Auch im Fettstoffwechsel spielt Vitamin B6 eine wichtige Rolle. Es synthetisiert Fette, die die Markscheide (Myelinscheide) für den Schutz des Nervenmarks bilden.

Empfohlene tägl. Zufuhr

  • Männer: 1,4 – 1,6 mg
  • Frauen: 1,2 mg 

Vorkommen in 100 g

  • Kartoffeln (1 mittelgroße) 0,7 mg
  • Banane (1 mittelgroße) 0,6 mg 
  • Linsen 0,6 mg
  • Spinat 0,2 mg

Vitamin C:

Vitamin C ist ein wichtiges wasserlösliches Antioxidans. Es kommt in jeder Zelle unseres Körpers vor und schützt sie vor der Oxidation mit freien Radikalen. Des Weiteren hängt der Cholesterinabbau von Vitamin C ab. Zusätzlich ist es für die Resorption von Eisen aus der Nahrung verantwortlich.

Empfohlene tägl. Zufuhr

  • Männer: 100 mg
  • Frauen: 100 mg

Vorkommen in 100 g

  • Acerolakirsche 1500-2000 mg 
  • Papaya 195 mg
  • Brokkoli 115 mg
  • Kiwi 80 mg
  • Orange 70 mg

Anmerkung:

* 1 µg = 40 Internationale Einheiten (IE); 1 IE = 0,025 µg

Quellen:

Burgerstein, U. P., Schurgast, H. & Zimmermann, M. (2012). Handbuch Nährstoffe. 12. Aufl. Verlag: Trias.1.

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung, Österreichische Gesellschaft für Ernährung, Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Ernährungsforschung, Schweizerische Vereinigung für Ernährung (Hrsg.): Referenzwerte für die Nährstoffzufuhr. Bonn, 2. Auflage, 6. aktualisierte Ausgabe (2020)

Ähnliche Beiträge