Science

Foam rolling and performance

In recent years, foam rolling has become a common practice in all kinds of sport settings. It is highly regarded within the efficiency of training or competition preparation and for accelerating post-exercise recovery (Healey et al., 2014; Jones et al., 2015; Monteiro and Neto, 2016). 

The study of Pearcey et al. (2015) investigated the effects of foam rolling as a recovery tool after an intense training through assessment of pressure-pain threshold, sprint time, change-of-direction speed, power, and dynamic strength-endurance. Their participants should go through a 20-minute rolling program after a strength exercise. Each muscle group should be rolled slowly for 45 seconds (2-3 times). Using this approach, they found that foam rolling effectively reduced DOMS and associated decrements in most dynamic performance measures.

The meta-analysis of Wiewelhove et al. (2019) summarized the results of 21 studies with a total number of 454 subjects. They examined the effects and implications of pre- and post-rolling with a foam roller or a massage roller (massage bars/ stick):

Pre-rolling: Preparation of training or competition 

Pre-rolling resulted in a small improvement in sprint performance (+0.7%) and strength performance (+1,8%). The studies investigating the effects of pre-rolling on performance and flexibility, used a cylindrical foam roller resulted in an overall performance (+2.7%) and an improved flexibility (5.0%). 

The research suggests that pre-rolling may offer small short-term benefits in promoting flexibility without negatively affecting muscle performance. 

If we remember the last science Friday 'static vs. dynamic stretching' we know that static stretching for more than 60 seconds can lead to a negative effect on performance. This is an important finding to consider when putting together a warm-up program, since training and competition preparation should always aim to enhance performance. 

Post-rolling: Recovery after strenuous training/competition

Post-rolling proved to be helpful, as the fatigue caused by training was reduced during sprinting (+3.1%) and strength training (+5.6%). The largest average effects of foam rolling in general and post-rolling in particular were found for the alleviation of perceived muscle pain (+6.0%).

The effects of post-rolling on performance should be interpreted with caution, not all results were significant and the number of available studies was limited. However, the effectiveness of foam rolling is still in question in pre- and post rolling. It must be noted that in the available studies, different foam rolling intervention protocols were combined with different types of fatigue-inducing exercises and outcome measures, making it difficult to compare the results (Poppendieck et al., 2016).

Sources:

  1. Healey, K. C., Hatfield, D. L., Blanpied, P., Dorfman, L. R., and Riebe, D. (2014). The effects of myofascial release with foam rolling on performance. J. Strength Cond. Res. 28, 61–68.
  2. Jones, A., Brown, L. E., Coburn, J. W., and Noffal, G. J. (2015). Effects of foam rolling on vertical jump performance. Int. J. Kinesiol. Sport. Sci.3, 38–42. 
  3. Monteiro, E. R., Costa, P. B., Corrêa Neto, V. G., Hoogenboom, B. J., Steele, J., and Silva Novaes, J. D. (2019a). Posterior thigh foam rolling increases knee extension fatigue and passive shoulder range-of-motion. J. Strength Cond. Res. 33, 987–994. 
  4. Poppendieck, W., Wegmann, M., Ferrauti, A., Kellmann, M., Pfeiffer, M., and Meyer, T. (2016). Massage and performance recovery: a meta-analytical review. Sport. Med. 46, 183–204.
  5. Pearcey, G. E., Bradbury-Squires, D. J., Kawamoto, J. E., Drinkwater, E. J., Behm, D. G., & Button, D. C. (2015). Foam rolling for delayed-onset muscle soreness and recovery of dynamic performance measures. Journal of athletic training, 50(1), 5-13.
  6. Wiewelhove, T., Döweling, A., Schneider, C., Hottenrott, L., Meyer, T., Kellmann, M., … & Ferrauti, A. (2019). A meta-analysis of the effects of foam rolling on performance and recovery. Frontiers in physiology, 10, 376.

Similar Posts

Wissenschaft

Faszienrollen und Leistung

In den letzten Jahren ist das Faszienrollen mit Schaumstoffrollen in allen Sportarten zur gängigen Praxis geworden. Es wird im Rahmen der Effizienz von Trainings- oder Wettkampfvorbereitung und zur Beschleunigung der Erholung nach dem Training sehr geschätzt (Healey et al., 2014; Jones et al., 2015; Monteiro & Neto, 2016). 

Die Studie von Pearcey et al. (2015) untersuchte die Auswirkungen des Faszienrollens als Erholungsstrategie nach einem intensiven Training durch die Bewertung der Druckschmerzschwelle, der Sprintzeit, der Geschwindigkeit beim Richtungswechsel, der Kraft und der dynamischen Kraftausdauer. Ihre Teilnehmer sollten nach einer Kraftübung ein 20-minütiges Rollenprogramm durchführen. Jede Muskelgruppe sollte 45 Sekunden lang langsam und gleichmäßig abgerollt werden (2-3 Mal). Anhand dieser Durchführung, stellten sie fest, dass Faszienrollen den Muskelkater reduziert und damit die Leistungsfähigkeit bei den meisten dynamischen Leistungsmessungen wirksam verbessert.

Die Metaanalyse von Wiewelhove et al. (2019) fasste die Ergebnisse von 21 Studien mit einer Gesamtzahl von 454 Probanden zusammen. Sie untersuchten die Auswirkungen und Implikationen des Pre- und Post-Faszienrollen mit einer Schaumstoffrolle oder einer Massagerolle (Massage Stangen/Stab):

Faszienrollen vor dem Training: Vorbereitung von Training oder Wettkampf 

Das Rollen vor dem Training führte zu einer leichten Verbesserung der Sprintleistung (+0,7 %) und der Kraftleistung (+1,8 %). Die Studien, die die Auswirkungen des Rollens vor dem Training auf Leistung und Flexibilität unter Verwendung einer Schaumstoffrolle untersuchten, führten zu einer verbesserten Gesamtleistung (+2,7 %) und einer verbesserten Flexibilität (5,0 %). 

Die Forschung deutet darauf hin, dass das Faszienrollen vor einer Belastung kurzfristig kleine Vorteile bei der Förderung der Flexibilität bieten kann, ohne die Muskelleistung negativ zu beeinflussen. 

Wenn wir uns an den letzten Science Friday „statisches vs. dynamisches Dehnen“ erinnern, wissen wir, dass statisches Dehnen über mehr als 60 Sekunden zu einer negativen Auswirkung auf die Leistung führen kann. Dies ist eine wichtige Erkenntnis, die bei der Zusammenstellung eines Aufwärmprogramms zu berücksichtigen ist, da Training und Wettkampfvorbereitung immer auf eine Leistungssteigerung abzielen sollten. 

Faszienrollen nach dem Training: Erholung nach anstrengendem Training/Wettkampf

Faszienrollen nach dem Training erwies sich als hilfreich, da die trainingsbedingte Müdigkeit bei der Sprint- (+3,1 %) und Kraftleistung (+5,6 %) reduziert werden konnte. Die größten Auswirkungen des Faszienrollens im Allgemeinen und nach dem Training wurden für die Linderung wahrgenommener Muskelschmerzen festgestellt (+6,0 %).

Die Auswirkungen des Faszienrollens auf die Leistung sollten jedoch mit Vorsicht interpretiert werden, nicht alle Ergebnisse sind signifikant, und die Anzahl der verfügbaren Studien ist begrenzt. Es ist zu beachten, dass in den verfügbaren Studien verschiedene Interventionsprotokolle für das Faszienrollen mit verschiedenen Arten von ermüdungsinduzierenden Übungen und Ergebnismessungen kombiniert wurden, was einen Vergleich der Ergebnisse erschwert (Poppendieck et al., 2016).

Quellen:

  1. Healey, K. C., Hatfield, D. L., Blanpied, P., Dorfman, L. R., and Riebe, D. (2014). The effects of myofascial release with foam rolling on performance. J. Strength Cond. Res. 28, 61–68.
  2. Jones, A., Brown, L. E., Coburn, J. W., and Noffal, G. J. (2015). Effects of foam rolling on vertical jump performance. Int. J. Kinesiol. Sport. Sci.3, 38–42. 
  3. Monteiro, E. R., Costa, P. B., Corrêa Neto, V. G., Hoogenboom, B. J., Steele, J., and Silva Novaes, J. D. (2019a). Posterior thigh foam rolling increases knee extension fatigue and passive shoulder range-of-motion. J. Strength Cond. Res. 33, 987–994. 
  4. Poppendieck, W., Wegmann, M., Ferrauti, A., Kellmann, M., Pfeiffer, M., and Meyer, T. (2016). Massage and performance recovery: a meta-analytical review. Sport. Med. 46, 183–204.
  5. Pearcey, G. E., Bradbury-Squires, D. J., Kawamoto, J. E., Drinkwater, E. J., Behm, D. G., & Button, D. C. (2015). Foam rolling for delayed-onset muscle soreness and recovery of dynamic performance measures. Journal of athletic training, 50(1), 5-13.
  6. Wiewelhove, T., Döweling, A., Schneider, C., Hottenrott, L., Meyer, T., Kellmann, M., … & Ferrauti, A. (2019). A meta-analysis of the effects of foam rolling on performance and recovery. Frontiers in physiology, 10, 376.

Similar Posts